Bhandara-Gondiya Lok Sabha Constituency: Candidates for 2019 LS Poll, past results, all updates


The Bhandara-Gondiya Lok Sabha constituency was formed in 2008 and covers six assembly segments – Tumsar, Bhandara, Sakoli, Arjuni Morgaon, Tirora and Gondia.

One of the 48 Lok Sabha constituencies in Maharashtra, it will cast its vote in the 2019 election on April 11 and the result will be out on May 23, 2019.

In 2014, BJP’s Nanabhau Patole won by a huge margin of 1.50 lakh votes. However, Patole became a vehement Modi critic and is now contesting against Nitin Gadkari on his home turf of Nagpur. The seat has gone to the NCP

Patole had beaten NCP bigwig and AIFF president Praful Patel in 2014. Patel had beaten Patole in 2009. Praful Patel is now in Rajya Sabha and the NCP has picked Nana Panchbudhe. On the other hand, the BJP is betting on Sunil Medhe.

Sunil Medhe went from BJP worker to president of Bhandara Nagar Parishad in 2016 to Lok Sabha candidate. Mendhe had focussed on electricity, water roads in the area during his tenure at the Nagar Parishad but even then, his candidature took voters by surprise. BJP and Sena workers both expressed dismay at the choice wondering whether Medhe could handle bigger playing field.

Maha Showdown

In 2014, BJP and Shiv Sena won 23 and 18 seats respectively. The Congress just got two while the NCP won 4 and Swabhimani Paksha got 1.  In 2019, the BJP and Sena alliance is set to take on the Congress-NCP alliance.

Maharashtra is going to vote in four phases.

Phase -1 (Date of polling: April 11, 2019)

Constituencies: Wardha, Ramtek, Nagpur, Bhandara-Gondiya, Gadchiroli-Chimur, Chandrapur,


Phase -2 (Date of polling: April 18, 2019)

Constituencies: Buldhana, Akola, Amravat, Hingoli, Nanded, Parbhani, Beed, Osmanabad, Latur, Solapur

Phase -3 (Date of polling: April 23, 2019)

Constituencies: Jalgaon, Raver, Jalna, Aurangabad, Raigad, Pune, Baramat, Ahmednagar,

Madha, Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri, Sindhudurg, Kolhapur, Hatkanangle

Phase -4 (Date of polling: April 29, 2019)

Constituencies: Nandurbar, Dhule, Dindori, Nashik, Palghar, Bhiwandi, Kalyan, Thane, Mumbai

North, Mumbai North-West, Mumbai North-East, Mumbai North-Central, Mumbai South- Central

Source link