Nagapattinam Lok Sabha constituency: Candidates for 2019 LS poll, past results, all updates


Nagapattinam Lok Sabha Constituency 2019: Nagapattinam will go to polls on April 18 along with 38 other Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu. The key contest here is going to be held among AIADMK’s M Saravanan and BSP’s Anitha.

Back in 2004 and then in 2009, DMK’s AKS Vijayan who had vast following in the region had claimed victory but he was defeated in 2014 by AIADMK’s Dr K Gopal, who is the sitting MP in this constituency. 

DMK, however, has not fielded its candidate this time in 2019 Lok Sabha election so the key fight is going to be held among AIADMK and BSP. 

Tamil Nadu has a total of 39 parliamentary constituencies where 7 of them including Sriperumbudur, Chidambaram, Rasipuram, Pollachi, Perambalur, Tenkasi, and Nagapattinam have been reserved for candidates representing scheduled caste community. However, no seat here has been reserved for Scheduled Tribes. 

Nagapattinam Lok Sabha constituency 2019 candidates 

AIADMK: M SaravananBSP: Anitha

Nagapattinam Lok Sabha results in 2014, 2009 and 2004 

2014: Dr K Gopal of the AIADMK received  434174 votes and he defeated AKS Vijayan of the DMK who got 328095 votes.

2009: AKS Vijayan of the DMK has received 369915 votes. He defeated M Selvaraj of the of the CPI who secured 321963 votes.

2004: AKS Vijayan of the DMK secured 463389 votes and defeated PJ Archunan of the ADMK who only got 247166 votes. 

Lok Sabha elections in all the 39 constituencies in Tamil Nadu will take place on April 18.

List of all 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu


Thiruvallur, Chennai North, Chennai South, Chennai Central, Sriperumbudur, Kancheepuram, Arakkonam, Vellore, Krishnagiri, Dharmapuri, Tiruvannamalai, Arani, Viluppuram, Kallakurichi, Salem, Namakkal, Erode, Tiruppur, Nilgiris, Coimbatore, Pollachi, Dindigul, Karur, Tiruchirappalli, Perambalur, Cuddalore, Chidambaram, Mayiladuthurai, Nagapattinam, Thanjavur, Sivaganga, Madurai, Theni, Virudhunagar, Ramanathapuram, Thoothukkudi, Tenkasi, Tirunelveli, Kanniyakumari.

Parliamentary elections in 2019 are taking place in 7 phases. The first phase voting has already taken place which was held on April 11.  The remaining phases will go to polls on April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. Counting of votes will be held on May 23. 

Source link